Get Help Obtaining Your Maryland Driver's License
Under Maryland's Graduated Licensing System law, every new driver, regardless of their age, must take a course that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
At Perry Hall Driving School, we help you meet that requirement while remaining the only school in the state that allows parents to sit in on their child's classes!
Classroom Instruction Covers Many Useful Topics
Our classroom sessions will teach you a variety of important issues and concepts include:
- Basic operational controls of vehicles
- How to navigate intersections
- Driving techniques
- Basic maneuvers
- Traffic control devices
- Defensive driving
- Rules of the road
- Alcohol and driving education
- Various driving environments
- Dealing with road rage
- Bad weather conditions
- How to deal with emergencies
To pass the course, you must attend all 30 hours of class, participate, respect the school property and your fellow students, and earn a grade of 80 on each test plus the final.
6 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Instruction
Once you get behind the wheel, our hands-on class will teach the essential car skills you need to be on the streets.
- Basic maneuvering in a safe environment
- Sharing the road with other kinds of vehicles
- Basic maneuvering in challenging environments
- Speed control
- Space management
- Lane changing
- Expressway driving
- City and country driving
- Parking techniques
- Test preparation
To pass, you will need to complete all six hours and meet the criteria for each lesson. The lessons are offered in three 2 hour sessions and you will drive one-on-one with our highly qualified driving teachers.
Once you have completed and passed both the classroom and behind-the-wheel sessions in accordance with the Maryland Driver Education Program, we will enter your student information directly into the MVA.
We will not provide any certificate!
Attend a Special Orientation for Young Student Drivers
Unlike a lot of other institutions, at Perry Hall Driving School we require that at least one parent or adult representative attend a student orientation with a young driver.
As a parent, you are an important part of the teaching and licensing process. Ms. Georgie's eye-opening classes will be even better when you understand the part you play through your patience, discipline, and time. The orientations are conducted on the first day of class and the duration is for 90 minutes.
Fees Must Be Paid in Full Before Your Drive Time
You cannot schedule your six hours of drive time until you have completed the classroom sessions and your account is paid in full. We will give you a reminder call if needed.
For more information, give us a call. We will get back to you within one business day.